UAW 4121

Membership Meeting Thursday 12/8 at 5pm

Our next membership meeting will be tomorrow, Thursday 12/8 from 5-6pm, and will be conducted via Zoom. To access the Zoom link, fill out this RSVP form. All members in good standing are encouraged to attend, and new members may sign up for UAW4121 by filling out this membership form.

At this month’s meeting, we’ll build on conversations from last month about how we can build power at UW by organizing across Academic Student Employees, Postdocs, and Research Scientists all together. We’ll also discuss important updates from ongoing Postdoc and Research Scientist bargaining, preparations for ASE bargaining next year, and what every member can do to help win strong contracts. The proposed agenda for the meeting is as follows:

  • Approve Agenda
  • Approve Minutes
  • Budget Workgroup
  • UAW International Executive Board Elections
  • Bargaining & Organizing Updates
  • Adjourn

For more information about how the meeting will be structured and how you can use Zoom’s features to participate, check out this page on our website.

UAW International Executive Board Election Results

The vote count for the first-ever direct elections of UAW International Executive Board concluded on December 2! The following candidates secured a majority of votes in their race and will be sworn into office on December 12:

  • Secretary-Treasurer: Margaret Mock
  • Vice-President (3 positions): Mike Booth & Rich Boyer
  • Region 1 Director: LaShawn English
  • Region 1A Director: Laura Dickerson
  • Region 1D Director: Steve Dawes
  • Region 2B Director: Dave Green
  • Region 4 Director: Brandon Campbell
  • Region 6 Director (our region): Mike Miller
  • Region 8 Director: Tim Smith
  • Region 9A Director: Brandon Mancilla

Because no candidate received a majority of votes for President, the third Vice President position, or Region 9 Director, runoff elections will be held for those positions. Rules and details around the runoff election will be forthcoming, but the Federal Monitor overseeing the election has stated that they anticipate the mail-in voting period to run from January 12, 2023 to February 28, 2023. For more information, visit You can also find information on our website.

As with the first round of voting, our Organizing Committees will be conducting a number of GOTV efforts to reach out to fellow UAW 4121 members and encourage everyone to participate in the runoff election. To get involved with this work, email

Plan B Vending Machine in Odegaard

Earlier this fall, ASUW announced the launch of a vending machine on campus that would provide Plan B emergency contraceptives to students at a reduced price. The machine is located in the basement of Odegaard by the ByGeorge Cafe, and the current price is $12 per Plan B. Other amenities available via the machine include pregnancy tests ($7) and ibuprofen ($2). Obtaining this vending machine was the direct result of student organizing and collective action – to read more about this work and the student groups involved, see this article published in The Daily last month.

ASEs: Apply to be an EPIC Training Specialist!

Empowering Prevention and Inclusive Communities (EPIC) is hiring for two Academic Student Employee Training Specialist Positions! Each position is 50% FTE, approximately 20 hours per week, for all four quarters of the year (including summer). Apply on UW Hires (UW Requisition #215467).

The EPIC program is an innovative peer-to-peer harassment prevention training program jointly run between our union and the university, and is a major win from recent ASE and Postdoc contract campaigns. If you have questions, reach out to the current training specialists at

In Solidarity,
Justin Applegate
Lucia Baker
Ana Bennett
Rebecca Bluett
Erica Bigelow
Nick Bolten
Francesca Colonnese
Pat Erickson
Max Friedfeld
Colleen Hoffman
Soohyung Hur
Levin Kim
Brianne King
Avi Matarasso
Nicel Mohamed-Hinds
Emily Myers
Amal Nanavati
Anzela Niraula
Marissa Parker
Mara Rafferty
Tahiyat Rahman
Anastasia Schaadhart
Audrey Seo
Jer Steeger
Sam Sumpter
Samantha Thompson
Natalie Wellen
Tricia Wu
Yuying Xie