February 6, 2023

We, members of UW Postdoc and UW Researchers United Bargaining Committees, are writing to encourage you to vote “Yes” in the Strike Authorization Vote that begin today.

Click here to vote!

A Strike Authorization Vote is a process through which Postdocs and Research Scientists and Engineers A-4 vote to authorize your respective Bargaining Team to call a strike if circumstances justify. Thousands of workers voting “Yes” on strike authorization will send a strong message to UW Admin that we are united and ready to hold them accountable for their bad faith bargaining.

For Postdocs, UW dramatically changed their position regarding Postdoc overtime eligibility and compensation, derailing our ability to reach agreement. For RSEs, bargaining with “no end in sight” is unacceptable. We need UW to commit to finishing this contract. Read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page about the Strike Authorization Vote here. If you have any questions, please contact uaw4121@uaw4121.org.

Please click here and Vote Yes to show UW Admin that we are willing to take additional steps to hold UW accountable so they make real movement toward a fair agreement.

In solidarity,

UWPU/UAW Bargaining Committee
Luci Baker, Mechanical Engineering
Rebecca Bluett, Biochemistry
Brant Bowers, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tucker Burgin, Chemical Engineering
Pat Erickson, Institute for Protein Design
Jer Steeger, Philosophy

UW Researchers United Bargaining Committee
Thaddeus Armstrong, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Leila Blair, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Nick Bolten, Computer Science
Jai Broome, Medical Genetics
Erin Carll, Center for Evaluation & Research for STEM Equity
Shelly Carpenter, Oceanography
Bonnie Chang, The Cooperative Institute for Climate, Ocean and Ecosystem Studies (CICOES)
Morgan Crotta, Department of Comparative Medicine
Iván Cruz, Biological Structure
Abby Gambrill, Physiology & Biophysics
Jay Mas Gilvydis, I-TECH/Global Health
Anya Kalata, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Julia Kobelt, Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
Katherine Lasdin, Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
Ellen MacLachlan, I-TECH/Global Health
Katie Osterhage, Family Medicine
Deborah Nemens, School of Environmental and Forest Science
Van Redila, Otolaryngology
Annelise Smith, Center for the Study of Health and Risk Behaviors
Galen Stewart, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Kambiz Tavabi, I-LABS
Jacob Tietsort, Comparative Medicine
Stacey Wedlake, Information School
Ryan Will, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Tricia Wu, Biological Structure
Joshua Yee, Pharmacology