Today we continued discussions with management around outstanding disputes on our non-discrimination and harassment proposals. Management also continues to refuse to honor their agreement (and our contractually protected right) for release of five members of the bargaining committee from their regular appointments to do the work of bargaining and representing the 4500 ASEs in our bargaining unit.

This afternoon, three ASEs who are parents came to discuss the challenges they have experienced in finding adequate childcare, and all of them have been unable to utilize the childcare subsidies because the waitlists for approved childcare providers are years long or geographically inaccessible (or both).

Management brought us a package proposal in which they did not increase funding for childcare subsidies (despite the current fund being used at capacity), and did not address our members concerns that finding an approved childcare provider is untenable. They continue to make incremental progress on our non-discrimination and harassment proposals, but there are still substantial differences on a number of items, including equity committees and representation in the discrimination and harassment investigation and complaint process, and including expiration dates for the new sexual harassment trainings.

While the University Administration has made incremental progress in some important areas, there is still a wide distance between their proposals and many of the critical improvements members across campus have expressed need for. With only 12 days until the contract expires, the need for Admin’s swift and significant movement is increasingly urgent.

Tomorrow (4/18) begins our strike authorization vote, which will be open for one week. Our collective ability to win improved protections, rights, wages, and benefits relies heavily on members’ clear engagement and involvement, and all members are strongly encouraged to participate in the vote. For more information about the strike authorization vote, please check out this FAQ or contact your steward!

In Solidarity,
Theresa Aliwarga
Douglas Avella-Castro
Dianne Baumann
Andrea Canini
Anthony Castanza
Monica Cortes Viharo
Meg Drouhard
Kristen Garofali
Katya Kolesova
Dylan Mayer
Mandy McCourt
Kristin McCowan
Elizabeth Mills
David Parsons
Shua Sanchez
Maddie Smith
Sam Sumpter
Arash Tarkhan
Judy Twedt