UAW 4121

International Solidarity Working Group Fall Open Meeting 11/3 at 3pm 

Our International Solidarity Working Group is hosting a fall open meeting to build community for international scholars and to discuss what the working group has been working on over the past year. We’ll be sharing some of our perspectives on the unique challenges that international scholars face, and the organizing we’ve done around the ICE directives last year to current issues around back-to-campus policies. ISWG members will also share how being involved in union organizing has shaped their experiences with the UW as well as broader political institutions.

The session will be in a hybrid format and is open to everyone, including department organizers and stewards who are interested in learning more about how to best support international students and scholars in their communities. RSVP here!

Vote and tell your friends!

Do you want affordable housing, climate justice, real public safety, affordable childcare, and economic justice? What about housing for people living outside or access to all kinds of efficient transportation like Light Rail and safe bike lanes? Then get those ballots in by 8 pm on Tuesday, November 2nd! Local government and policy makers at city and county council impact our everyday lives so make sure you make your voice heard!  Remember you can return your ballot via mail (no postage required) before Tuesday or by dropping it in a ballot drop box in King County or Pierce County. Read more about our endorsed candidates on our website. 

Blue graphic with white text at the top: "UAW 4121 2021 Endorsements." Below are boxes with photos of candidates and races. Seattle: Mayor - Lorena Gonzalez. City Council 8 - Teresa Mosqueda. City Council 9 - Nikkita Oliver. City Attorney - Nicole Thomas Kennedy. School Board - Michelle Sarju. Port Commission 3 - Hamdi Mohamed. Port Commission 4 - Toshiko Grace Hasegawa. King County: KC Executive - Joe Nguyen. KC Council 3 - Sarah Perry. KC Council 9 - Kim-Khanh Van. Local Races: Burien City Council - Krystal Marx. Seatac City Council - Jake Simpson. Tukwila City Council - Tosh Sharp.

If you didn’t get your ballot or still need to register and are at the UW Seattle campus, swing by the HUB to register to vote, update your address,  or get your replacement ballot. Then walk on over to Schmitz Hall dropbox and cast your ballot! UW Bothell also has some services available! Check out hours and information for these student engagement hubs.

Speaking of voting… Get those ballots in for 1M1V

Ballots are now out for the important UAW-wide referendum, 1 Member 1 Vote (1M1V). Make your voice heard and fill yours out ASAP! It’s critical for every member to participate in this vote, and our ASE and Postdoc Organizing Committees are actively working to connect with as many 4121 members as possible. So once you’ve voted, please also take a second to let the Organizing Committees know you’ve sent in your ballot by filling out this form.

1M1V would change the way officers of the UAW International Executive Board (IEB) are elected, and is being conducted across all UAW Locals around the country. The referendum asks just one question: to adopt direct elections (“One Member, One Vote”) in which all union members get a vote to decide our union’s highest leadership, or to keep the current system in which delegates to a convention are the ones who vote.

The vote is being conducted by mail-in ballot. Ballots were mailed out on October 19, so you should get yours within a few days. The ballot will be very short and include its own postage, so should just take a second to fill out. For more information — including how to get a replacement ballot and how to get more involved — check out this page on the website.

Take Action for Transportation!

Square graphic with bold words "#TakesTransportation. A Better Future Takes Transportation. Join the Effort:". The background is an image of heavy traffic overlaid with a yellow to red gradient.

Funding for transportation will determine whether Washington makes progress on climate, economic inequality, health care justice and more. But right now we are investing in transportation strategies from 50 years ago — and we can’t afford more years of status quo.

UAW 4121 is proud to be part of a campaign to tell our state legislators: a better future #TakesTransportation. Visit to send a letter to your representatives asking to pass a transformative transportation package, one that will set us on track for a carbon-free future.

In Solidarity,

Douglas Avella-Castro
Julia Ball
Nicholas Bolten
Tucker Burgin
Amanda Clouser
Kate Conroy
Max Friedfeld
Vern Harner
Colleen Hoffman
Levin Kim
Brianne King
Avi Matarasso
Erin Morgan
Emily Myers
Amal Nanavati
Anzela Niraula
Nayon Park
Marissa Parker
Anastasia Schaadhardt
Solmaz Shakerifard
Sam Sumpter
Samantha Thompson
Braeden Van Deynze
Yuying Xie
Momona Yamagami
Christian Zimmermann